The Ethical Review Board (ERB) cannot possibly review and monitor all research being conducted in the country. Thus, the ERB has delegated its power to Institutional Review Committees (IRCs) established at health care facilities, academic institutions and research institutions throughout Nepal.

Every IRC team is multidisciplinary, having at least one female member and one external member not affiliated with the institution. IRCs hold regular meetings and submit semiannual progress reports to the NHRC. The NHRC has developed guidelines for the Institutional Review Committees for health research in Nepal. The guidelines regulate the conduct and define the operating procedures of the IRCs. An IRC is authorized to provide ethics clearance to research proposals from researchers from within the institution associated with a specific IRC, but are not authorized to provide approval to the following research proposals:

  • Research proposed intended for studies at the national or international level
  • Externally sponsored/funded research (the term “externally” indicates not only outside of the country but also outside of the particular health care facility or institution)
  • Clinical trials involving human and/or animal participants

 

 

These IRCs are approved by national ERB of NHRC.

S.NName of Institutional AddressNameEmailContactStatus      
1Annapurna Neurological Institute & Allied SciencesMaitighar, KathmanduDr. Pravesh Rajbhandari Chairman Dr. Sharad Hari Gajurel Member Secretarypraveshrajbhandari@hotmail.com sharad2005@hotmail.com9841282689 9840060295
2B & B HospitalGwarkhu, LalitpurProf. Dr. Amit Joshi, Chairperson
Dr. Nagmai Singh, Member Secretary
vayu_79@yahoo.com
dramitjoshi7@gmail.com
9855033053 9841233850Inactive
3B.P. Koirala Memorial Cancer HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Krishna Sagar Sharma, Chairperson
Dr. Suman Khanal Member Secretary
deputybpkmch@gmail.com
sumandoc@iom.edu.np
9855085301
9840092726
4Bharatpur HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Mani Prasad Gautam Chairperson Dr. Kalyan Sapkota Member Secretarymanigautam@hotmail.com kalspk@hotmail.com9851076043 9851143296Inactive
5Birat Medical College & Teaching HospitalBiratnagar, MorangProf. Dr. Nabraj Koirala Chairman Dr. Surya B. Parajuli Member Secretaryircbmcth@gmail.com splochan695@gmail.com 9841794785
6Biratnagar Eye HospitalBiratnagar, MorangDr. Lalit Agrawal Chairman Mr. Rajiv Ranjan Karn Member Secretaryirc@erec-p.org9844653457
9842068053
7BP Koirala Institute of Health SciencesDharan, SunsariDr. Bickram Pradhan
Chairman Dr. Binod Kumar Lal Das
Member Secretary
bickram.p@gmail.com
binod.das@bpkihs.edu
9842060202
9804364430
8Central Institute of Science and Technology (CIST)New baneshwor, KathmanduDr. Shiba Bahadur Karkee Chairperson Ms. Isha Karmacharya Member Secretary karkee_sb@yahoo.com ishakarmacharya@gmail.com4436434 (office) 9846084276
9Chitwan Medical CollegeBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Gopendra Prasad Deo Chairperson Mr. Raj Kumar Mehata Member SecretaryGopendradeo@gmail.com mehtarajkraj@gmail.com9855046095 9852024779
10Civil Service HospitalNew baneshwor, KathmanduProf. Dr. Dinesh Lamsal Chairperson Dr. Vikal Chandra Shakya Member Secretary drdineshklamsal@gmail.com vikalcsh@yahoo.com info@civilservicehospital.org9851011523 9842173106
11College of Medical Science and Teaching HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Madhav Ghimire Chairman Mr. Hari Prasad Upadhyay Member Secretarymadhavghimirenp@yahoo.com hpchalise@gmail.com9842032842 9855058464
12Devdaha Medical College and Research Institute Pvt. Ltd.RupandehiDr. Niraj Pandey
Chairman Dr. Sharmilla Gurung Member Secretary
jwelsharmila@hotmail.com devdaha.irc@gmail.com9842054252
9861486001
13Gandaki Medical College and Teaching Hospital and Research CenterKaskiDr. Prakash Baral Chairman Dr. Neelu Hirachan Member Secretary prakashbaral2002@hotmail.com drndsubedi@gmail.com9855054563
14Grande International HospitalTokha, KathmanduDr. Raju Poudel Chairperson Dr. Bishnu Pahari Member Secretary docpaudelraju@gmail.com drbishnupahari@gmail.com9845069430 9855064054
15Institute of Medicine (IOM)Maharajgunj kathmanduProf. Dr. Dwarika Prasad Shrestha Chairman drdpshrestha@gmail.com
16Institute of Science and Technology (IST)Kritipur, KathmanduProf. Dr. Ram Narayan Jha Chairperson Dr. Meghraj Banjara Member Secretary ramnarayan_jha@yahoo.com banjaramr@gmail.com9841454013 9841553767
17Kanti Children HospitalMaharajgunj kathmanduDr. Prakash Joshi Chairperson Dr. Ramhari Chapagain Member Secretarychapagainrh2007@gmail.com irckanti@mail.com.np9841409080
18Kantipur Dental College Teaching Hospital and Research CentreDhapasi, Ring RoadProf. Dr. Praveen Mishra Chairman Prof. Dr. Rabindra Man Shrestha Member Secretary drpraveenm99@gmail.com rabindraortho@gmail.com9851030100 9851001414Inactive
19Karnali Academy of Health ScienceJumlaDr. Binod Aryal Chairperson Dr. Poojan Kumar Rokaya Member Secretarypkr2039@gmail.com9849083461
20Kathmandu Medical College and Teaching Hospital (KMCTH)Sinamangal KathmanduDr. Sunil Kumar Joshi Chairperson Dr. Deepak Regmi Member Secretarydrsunilkj@gmail.com drdeepakregmi@hotmail.com9851056859 9851087550
21Kathmandu University School of Medical Sciences (KUMS)Dhulikhel, KavreDr. Deepak Shrestha Chairman Dr. Rajeev Shrestha Member Secretary dsmsortho@gmail.com rmaleku@hotmail.com irc@kusms.edu.np9851073353 9851074417
22KIST Medical Collge and Teaching HospitalGwarkhu, LalitpurDr. Nisha Jha Chairperson Dr. Neeti Singh Member Secretary nishajha32@gmail.com neetii_@gmail.com9841602808 9851033211
23Lumbini Medical College & Teaching Hospital LTDParvas, PalpaDr. Ruban Raj Joshi Chairperson Dr. Samata Nepal Member Secretary rubanjoshi2016@gmail.com samata.kool@gmail.com irclmcth@gmail.com9841248469
24Manipal Medical College of Medical SciencesPokhara, NepalProf. Dr. VM Alurkar Chairman Dr. Krishna Prasad Koirala Member Secretaryvijayalurkar@yahoo.co.in gaukrishna@yahoo.com 9846053316 9856034347
25Manmohan Memorial Institute of Health Sciences ( MMIHS)Nakhkhu, LalitpurProf. Dr. Dharma Prasad Khanal Chairman Prof. Dr. Sujan Babu Marahatta Member Secretarydrdpk@yahoo.com sujanmarahatta@gmail.com9851077038 9851126707
26National Academy of Medical Sciences(NAMS)Bir Hospital , KathmanduProf. Dr Ajit Raymajhi Chairman ajitrayamajhi@gmail.com
membersecretary.irb@gmail.com
9851055305
27National Ayurveda Research and Training CenterKritipur, KathmanduDr. Sarita Shrestha Chairperson Dr. Siddhartha K.Thakur Member Secretary kay@growingedge.org dr.sidhu1967@gmail.com irc.nartc@gmail.com9851213360Inactive
28National Institute of Neurological and Allied Sciences Pvt. LtdBasbari, KathmanduDr. Dinesh Nath Gongal Chairperson Dr. Rachana Nakarmi Member Secretarysudesh@ccsl.com.np nakarmirachana@gmail.com rachana@neuro.org.np9801097856
29National Medical College Pvt. LtdBirgunj, ParsaDr. Md. Prawez Ahmad Chairman Dr. Tripti Pal Raman Member Secretary parwezmedicine@gmail.com raavti@gmail.com9821136451 9806811673
30Nepal Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS)Sano Bharangang, KathamanduProf. Dr. Lochana Shrestha Chairman Ms. Subadra Shrestha Pradhan Member Secretarylochanashrestha@gmail.com ircnaihs@naihs.edu.np
sushaili@yahoo.com
9841281688
9841669363
31Nepal Cancer Hospital & Research Center Pvt. Ltd.Harisiddhi, LalitpurDr. Hari Prasad Dhakal Chairman Dr. Anju Shrestha Member Secretarydr.hari.dhakal@nch.com.np anjushr2002@yahoo.com9851225505 9851010838
32Nepal Medical CollegeJorpati, KathmanduDr. Shekhar Babu Rizyal Coordinator Prof. Dr. Shiba Kumar Rai Member Secretarydrshibakrai.nepal@gmail.com nmcrc@nmcth.edu9851040480Inactive
33Nepal Netra Jyoti SangTripureshworProf. Dr. Chet Raj Pant Chairperson Mr. Ranjan Shah Member Secretary crpant@yahoo.com ranjanshah78@gmail.com irc@nnjs.org.np9851079524 9845325650
34Nepalgunj Medical College and Teaching Hospital (NMTH)Kohalpur, BankeDr. Satindra Mohan Mishra Chairman Dr. Shama Bhandari Member Secretaryprof_smmishra@yahoo.com anup_sharma88@yahoo.com9816512821 9849213200
35Nobel CollegeSinamangal, KathmanduProf. Ramjee Prasad Pathak Chairman Mr. Anil Khadka Member Secretary nobelirc@nobelcollege.edu.np
36Nobel Medical College Teaching Hospital ( P) LTDBiratnagarDr. Ramhari Ghimire Chairman Dr. Sanzida Khatoon Member Secretary ksanzida12@gmail.com irc@nobelmedicalcollege.com.np9852027900 9860342335
37Paropakar Maternity and Women's HospitalThapathali, KathmanduDr. Karishma Malla Vaidya Chairperson Dr. Rijuta Joshi Member Secretary rupkari@yahoo.com rijutajoshijha@yahoo.com9841449234 9851151830
38Patan Academy of Health Sciences (PAHS)LalitpurProf. Dr. Jay N Shah Chairperson Dr. Nabees MS Pradhan Member Secretaryjayshah@pahs.edu.np nabeesman@gmail.com irc-pahs.edu.np9851040139 9851094037Inactive
39People's Dental College & Hospital Pvt. LtdNayabazar, KathmanduProf. Dr.Amita Pradhan Chairperson Dr. Rinky Nyachhyon Member Secretary amiseason@gmail.com docrinky@gmail.com9841302137 9851050297
40Pokhara Academy of Health SciencesPokhara, NepalDr. Devesh Singh Chairman Dr. Laxman Banstola Member Secretary deveshent@gmail.com lbanstola@hotmail.com9846021984 9846154078
41Pokhara University Research Center, Pokhara UniversityLekhanath Marg, KaskiDr. Niranjan Shrestha Chairperson puirc@pu.edu.np9856048774
42Public Health Concern Trust (phect-NEPAL)Pradarsanimarg KathmanduProf. Dr. Ganesh Dangal Chairman Dr. Basant Maharjan Member Secretary ganesh.dangal@gmail.com basant06maharjan@yahoo. Com9851055036 9841276057
43Purbanchal University College of Medical and Allied ScienceMorangDr. Binita Kumari Poudel Chairman Dr. Prasanna Dahal Member Secretary binitapg@gmail.com prince_prasanna@hotmail.com9841609580 9852049828
44Scheer Memorial Hospital Medical Institute College of NursingBanepa, KavreDr. Tara Jung Gurung Chairperson Ms. Pratima Manandhar Member Secretarygurungt@aiias.edu manandhar.p@hotmail.com9808478880 9841495254
45Shahid Gangalal National Heart CentreBansbari, KathmanduDr. Sujeeb Rajbhandari Chairman Dr. Chadra Mani Adhikari Member Secretarysujeebr@hotmail.com topjhap@gmail.com9851066122 9851212111
46Shi-Gan Health FoundationNarayangopal ChowkDr. Ram Deo Prasad Shah Chairman Ms. Prasha Shrestha Member Secretaryshigansicostnepal98@gmail.comInactive
47Shree Medical and Technical CollegeChitwanDr. Rajani Shah Chairperson Mr. Hari Prasad Sapkota Member Secretary rajani_shah89@yahoo.com hariprasadsapkota2015@gmail.com9845146794 9855063112
48Shree Rana Ambika Shah Eye Hospital, Lumbini Eye InstituteBhairahawaDr. Sushila Patel Chairperson Ms. Saraswati Khadka Thapa Member Secretary saru21k@gmail.com research@lei.org.np 9847110218
49Stupa Health Care Center Cooperation LTD (SHCC)Boudha, TusalProf. Geeta Pandey Chairperson Ms. Rupa Pandey Thapa Member Secretary gitapandey2006@hotmail.com roopa68@gmail.com stupa@stupahealth.org.np9841070199 9841624884Inactive
50Tilganga Institute of Opthalmolohy (TIO)Gaushala, KathmanduProf. Dr. Suman S Thapa Chairperson Dr. Mohan Kumar Shrestha Member Secretary suman.thapa@tilganga.org mohan.shrestha@tilganga.org9813665961 9851152446Inactive
51Universal College of Medical SciencesBhairahawaProf. Saraj Gurung
Chairman Member Secretary
Dr. Anup Acharya
g.saraj@gmail.com 9841297161
52Yeti Health Science Academy Maharajganj, Kathmandu Mr. Hari Bahadur Rana, Chairperson
Mr. Rajesh Karki, Member Secretary
hari.rana52@gmail.com
rajesh_karki123@gmail.com
9841401038
9842484324
53Star Hospital Pvt. Ltd. Sanepa Prof. Keshab Parajuli, Chairperson
Dr. Ronak Shrestha, Member Secretary
drkparajuli@iom.edu.np
ronakshrestha@gmail.com
9841401038
9841600604
54Nepal Medicity Hospital Lalitpur Prof. Dr. Umid Kumar Shrestha, Chairperson
Dr. Suchita Shrestha Joshi, Member Secretary
umidshrestha@gmail.com
suchita.joshi@nepalmedicity.com
9814109409
9813256060
55Nepal Police HospitalMaharajganj, KathmanduSSP Dr. Damodar Poudel, Chairperson
DSP Dr. Nabin Lageju, Member Secretary
damodarpoudel@gmail.com
lagejunabin@gmail.com
9851280510
9841985708