The Ethical Review Board (ERB) cannot possibly review and monitor all research being conducted in the country. Thus, the ERB has delegated its power to Institutional Review Committees (IRCs) established at health care facilities, academic institutions and research institutions throughout Nepal.

Every IRC team is multidisciplinary, having at least one female member and one external member not affiliated with the institution. IRCs hold regular meetings and submit semiannual progress reports to the NHRC. The NHRC has developed guidelines for the Institutional Review Committees for health research in Nepal. The guidelines regulate the conduct and define the operating procedures of the IRCs. An IRC is authorized to provide ethics clearance to research proposals from researchers from within the institution associated with a specific IRC, but are not authorized to provide approval to the following research proposals:

  • Research proposed intended for studies at the national or international level
  • Externally sponsored/funded research (the term “externally” indicates not only outside of the country but also outside of the particular health care facility or institution)
  • Clinical trials involving human and/or animal participants

 

 

These IRCs are approved by national ERB of NHRC.

S.NName of Institutional AddressNameEmailContactStatus      
1Annapurna Neurological Institute & Allied SciencesMaitighar, KathmanduDr. Pravesh Rajbhandari Chairman Dr. Sharad Hari Gajurel Member Secretarypraveshrajbhandari@hotmail.com sharad2005@hotmail.com9841282689 9840060295
2B & B HospitalGwarkhu, LalitpurProf. Dr. Amit Joshi, Chairperson
Dr. Nagmai Singh, Member Secretary
vayu_79@yahoo.com
dramitjoshi7@gmail.com
9855033053 9841233850
3B.P. Koirala Memorial Cancer HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Krishna Sagar Sharma, Chairperson
Dr. Suman Khanal Member Secretary
deputybpkmch@gmail.com
sumandoc@iom.edu.np
9855085301
9840092726
4Bharatpur HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Mani Prasad Gautam Chairperson Dr. Kalyan Sapkota Member Secretarymanigautam@hotmail.com kalspk@hotmail.com9851076043 9851143296
5Birat Medical College & Teaching HospitalBiratnagar, MorangProf. Dr. Nabraj Koirala Chairman Dr. Surya B. Parajuli Member Secretaryircbmcth@gmail.com splochan695@gmail.com 9841794785
6Biratnagar Eye HospitalBiratnagar, MorangDr. Aashma Manandhar Chairman Mr. Rajiv Ranjan Karn Member Secretaryasmamanandhar1984@gmail.com
irc@erec-p.org
9860038301
9842068053
7BP Koirala Institute of Health SciencesDharan, SunsariDr. Bickram Pradhan
Chairman Dr. Binod Kumar Lal Das
Member Secretary
bickram.p@gmail.com
binod.das@bpkihs.edu
9842060202
9804364430
8Central Institute of Science and Technology (CIST)New baneshwor, KathmanduDr. Shiba Bahadur Karkee Chairperson Ms. Isha Karmacharya Member Secretary karkee_sb@yahoo.com ishakarmacharya@gmail.com4436434 (office) 9846084276
9Chitwan Medical CollegeBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Gopendra Prasad Deo Chairperson Mr. Raj Kumar Mehata Member SecretaryGopendradeo@gmail.com mehtarajkraj@gmail.com9855046095 9852024779
10Civil Service HospitalNew baneshwor, KathmanduProf. Dr. Dinesh Lamsal Chairperson Dr. Vikal Chandra Shakya Member Secretary drdineshklamsal@gmail.com vikalcsh@yahoo.com info@civilservicehospital.org9851011523 9842173106
11College of Medical Science and Teaching HospitalBharatpur, ChitwanDr. Madhav Ghimire Chairman Mr. Hari Prasad Upadhyay Member Secretarymadhavghimirenp@yahoo.com hpchalise@gmail.com9842032842 9855058464
12Devdaha Medical College and Research Institute Pvt. Ltd.RupandehiDr. Niraj Pandey
Chairman Dr. Sharmilla Gurung Member Secretary
jwelsharmila@hotmail.com devdaha.irc@gmail.com9842054252
9861486001
13Gandaki Medical College and Teaching Hospital and Research CenterKaskiDr. Prakash Baral Chairman Dr. Neelu Hirachan Member Secretary prakashbaral2002@hotmail.com drndsubedi@gmail.com9855054563
14Grande International HospitalTokha, KathmanduDr. Raju Poudel Chairperson Dr. Bishnu Pahari Member Secretary docpaudelraju@gmail.com drbishnupahari@gmail.com9845069430 9855064054
15Institute of Medicine (IOM)Maharajgunj kathmanduProf. Dr. Dwarika Prasad Shrestha Chairman drdpshrestha@gmail.com9841218380
16Institute of Science and Technology (IOST)Kritipur, KathmanduDr. Surendra Kumar Gautam
Chairperson Dr. Komal Raj Rijal Member Secretary
surendra.gautam@iost.tu.edu.np komal.rijal@cdmi.tu.edu.np 9841808951
9849002253
17Kanti Children HospitalMaharajgunj kathmanduDr. Bina Prajapati Manandhar Chairperson
Dr. Jagat Jeevan Ghimire
Member Secretary
prajapatibina@gmail.com jagat_ghimire@yahoo.com9851055033
9851136443
18Kantipur Dental College Teaching Hospital and Research CentreDhapasi, Ring Road
Prof. Dr. Rabindra Man Shrestha
Chairperson
Dr. Sujita Shrestha Member Secretary
rabindraortho@gmail.com
shresthasujita@hotmail.com
9851001414
9841255972
Inactive
19Karnali Academy of Health ScienceJumlaDr. Seshsananda Sanjel Chairperson Dr. Poojan Kumar Rokaya Member Secretaryseshanandasanjel24@gmail.com
pkr2039@gmail.com
9851010296
9849083461
20Kathmandu Medical College and Teaching Hospital (KMCTH)Sinamangal KathmanduDr. Sunil Kumar Joshi Chairperson Dr. Deepak Regmi Member Secretarydrsunilkj@gmail.com drdeepakregmi@hotmail.com9851056859 9851087550
21Kathmandu University School of Medical Sciences (KUMS)Dhulikhel, KavreProf. Dr. Prabodh Risal Chairman Dr. Dipesh Tamrakar Member Secretary prabodh07@hotmail.com dipesht@kusms.edu.np9801002953 9801002404Inactive
22KIST Medical Collge and Teaching HospitalGwarkhu, LalitpurDr. Nisha Jha Chairperson Dr. Neeti Singh Member Secretary nishajha32@gmail.com neetii_@gmail.com9841602808 9851033211
23Lumbini Medical College & Teaching Hospital LTDParvas, PalpaDr. Ruban Raj Joshi Chairperson Dr. Samata Nepal Member Secretary rubanjoshi2016@gmail.com samata.kool@gmail.com irclmcth@gmail.com9841248469
24Manipal Medical College of Medical SciencesPokhara, NepalProf. Dr. Niranjan Nayak Chairman Dr. Krishna Prasad Koirala Member Secretarynirajan.nayak@manipal.edu.np gaukrishna@yahoo.com 9846053316 9856034347
25Nepal Health Care Corporative Ltd.KathmanduDr. Mahendra Prasad Bhatt Chairman Dr. Khadga Bahadur Shrestha Member Secretarymahendramlt@gmail.com khadgab@gmail.com9851185573 9841549714
26National Academy of Medical Sciences(NAMS)Bir Hospital , KathmanduProf. Dr Ajit Raymajhi Chairman ajitrayamajhi@gmail.com
membersecretary.irb@gmail.com
9851055305
27National Ayurveda Research and Training CenterKritipur, KathmanduDr. Sarita Shrestha Chairperson Dr. Siddhartha K.Thakur Member Secretary kay@growingedge.org dr.sidhu1967@gmail.com irc.nartc@gmail.com9851213360Inactive
28National Institute of Neurological and Allied Sciences Pvt. LtdBasbari, KathmanduDr. Dinesh Nath Gongal Chairperson Dr. Rachana Nakarmi Member Secretarysudesh@ccsl.com.np nakarmirachana@gmail.com rachana@neuro.org.np9801097856
29National Medical College Pvt. LtdBirgunj, ParsaDr. Anand Kumar Chaurasia
Chairman Dr. Sanjay Kumar Sah Member Secretary
akchaurasia378@gmail.com
drsanjayshah99@gmail.com

9855036248
9842880199
30Nepal Army Institute of Health Sciences (NAIHS)Sano Bharangang, KathamanduDr. Sunil Dhungel Chairman Prof. Saraswati Sharma Paudyal Member Secretaryircnaihs@naihs.edu.np
31Nepal Cancer Hospital & Research Center Pvt. Ltd.Harisiddhi, LalitpurDr. Hari Prasad Dhakal Chairman Dr. Anju Shrestha Member Secretarydr.hari.dhakal@nch.com.np anjushr2002@yahoo.com9851225505 9851010838
32Nepal Medical CollegeJorpati, KathmanduDr. Shekhar Babu Rizyal Coordinator Prof. Dr. Shiba Kumar Rai Member Secretarydrshibakrai.nepal@gmail.com nmcrc@nmcth.edu9851040480Inactive
33Nepal Netra Jyoti SangTripureshworProf. Dr. Meeru Chaudhary Chairperson Mr. Ranjan Shah Member Secretary ranjanshah78@gmail.com irc@nnjs.org.np 9845325650
34Nepalgunj Medical College and Teaching Hospital (NMTH)Kohalpur, BankeProf Dr. Dhundi Poudel Chairman dhundi_paudel@yahoo.com9855055866
35Nobel CollegeSinamangal, KathmanduProf. Ramjee Prasad Pathak Chairman nobelirc@nobelcollege.edu.np
36Nobel Medical College Teaching Hospital ( P) LTDBiratnagarDr. Ramhari Ghimire Chairman Dr. Sanzida Khatoon Member Secretary ksanzida12@gmail.com irc@nobelmedicalcollege.com.np9852027900 9860342335
37Paropakar Maternity and Women's HospitalThapathali, KathmanduDr. Karishma Malla Vaidya Chairperson Dr. Rijuta Joshi Member Secretary rupkari@yahoo.com rijutajoshijha@yahoo.com9841449234 9851151830
38Patan Academy of Health Sciences (PAHS)LalitpurDr. Nabees MS Pradhan Chairperson
Dr. Ashis Shrestha Member Secretary
nabeesman@gmail.com ashisshrestha@pahs.edu.np irc-pahs.edu.np 9851094037
9851061846
39People's Dental College & Hospital Pvt. LtdNayabazar, KathmanduProf. Dr.Amita Pradhan Chairperson Dr. Rinky Nyachhyon Member Secretary amiseason@gmail.com docrinky@gmail.com9841302137 9851050297
40Pokhara Academy of Health SciencesPokhara, NepalDr. Leepa Vidya Chairperson
Dr. Laxman Banstola
Member Secretary
lipavaidya@gmail.com
lbanstola@hotmail.com
9856031242 9846154078
41Pokhara University Research Center, Pokhara UniversityLekhanath Marg, KaskiDr Niranjan Shrestha
Chairperson
Dr. Suresh Jaisyal
niranjanstha@gmail.com
9856048774
42Public Health Concern Trust (phect-NEPAL)Pradarsanimarg KathmanduProf. Dr. Ganesh Dangal Chairman Dr. Puja Lama Member Secretary ganesh.dangal@gmail.com drplama@phectnepal.org9851055036
43Purbanchal University College of Medical and Allied ScienceMorangDr. Anil Kumar Sah Chairman Mr. Nabin Lamichhane Member Secretary anilsahnp@gmail.com lamichhanenabin@gmail.com9857037055 9852027692Inactive
44Scheer Memorial Hospital Medical Institute College of NursingBanepa, KavreDr. Tara Jung Gurung Chairperson Ms. Pratima Manandhar Member Secretarygurungt@aiias.edu manandhar.p@hotmail.com9808478880 9841495254
45Shahid Gangalal National Heart CentreBansbari, KathmanduDr. Sujeeb Rajbhandari Chairman Dr. Dipanker Parjapati Member Secretarysujeebr@hotmail.com topjhap@gmail.com9851066122 9851212111
46Shi-Gan Health FoundationNarayangopal Chowk Inactive
47Shree Medical and Technical CollegeChitwanMs. Babita Ghimire Mr. Hari Prasad Sapkota Member Secretary hariprasadsapkota2015@gmail.com 9855063112
48Shree Rana Ambika Shah Eye Hospital, Lumbini Eye InstituteBhairahawaDr. Sushila Patel Chairperson Ms. Saraswati Khadka Thapa Member Secretary saru21k@gmail.com research@lei.org.np 9847110218
49Stupa Health Care Center Cooperation LTD (SHCC)Boudha, TusalProf. Geeta Pandey Chairperson Ms. Rupa Pandey Thapa Member Secretary gitapandey2006@hotmail.com roopa68@gmail.com stupa@stupahealth.org.np9841070199 9841624884Inactive
50Tilganga Institute of Opthalmolohy (TIO)Gaushala, KathmanduDr.Mohan Krishna Shrestha Chairperson Mr. Manish Poudel Member Secretary mohan.shrestha@tilganga.org
manish.poudel@tilganga.org
9813665961
9813665961
51Universal College of Medical SciencesBhairahawaProf. Saraj Gurung
Chairman Member Secretary
Dr. Anup Acharya
g.saraj@gmail.com 9841297161
52Yeti Health Science Academy Maharajganj, Kathmandu Mr. Hari Bahadur Rana, Chairperson
Mr. Rajesh Karki, Member Secretary
hari.rana52@gmail.com
rajesh_karki123@gmail.com
9841401038
9842484324
53Star Hospital Pvt. Ltd. Sanepa Prof. Keshab Parajuli, Chairperson
Dr. Ronak Shrestha, Member Secretary
drkparajuli@iom.edu.np
ronakshrestha@gmail.com
9841401038
9841600604
54Nepal Medicity Hospital Lalitpur Prof. Dr. Umid Kumar Shrestha, Chairperson
Dr. Suchita Shrestha Joshi, Member Secretary
umidshrestha@gmail.com
suchita.joshi@nepalmedicity.com
9814109409
9813256060
55Nepal Police HospitalMaharajganj, KathmanduSSP Dr. Damodar Poudel, Chairperson
DSP Dr. Nabin Lageju, Member Secretary
damodarpoudel@gmail.com
lagejunabin@gmail.com
9851280510
9841985708
56Madan Bhandari Academy of Helath ScienceHetauda, MakwanpurMs. Indira Adikariindira.adhikarip@gmail.com9845081510